My Late to the Party, Spoiler Free Review of Logan

Let me start by saying this was, by far, my favorite comic movie to date. The previous title holder was The Dark Knight which now has to sit at second place. And yes, I know I’m a little late but I figured I’d give my thoughts since it’s just released on blu-ray and for rent. So I’ll keep this short and sweet.

The performances in the movie were fantastic. Especially of note is the newcomer Dafne Keen who played Laura. Her performance was fantastic and I honestly hope they carry her over into future X-Men movies as Laura.

For those familiar with the comics the story more resembles a retelling of X-23’s origins with a dash of Old Man Logan after the end of the original Old Man Logan series. I don’t want to give away too much but I felt like the combination and reimagining of those stories was great.

The ending I felt was fitting as well as Hugh Jackman retires from his time as Logan. It felt like a very fitting send off to the character. In fact, the entire story of this movie I felt best represented what the character of Wolverine has become. A much deeper, more complex character that’s evolved through the decades of comic and film. I know some hard-core fans haven’t been the happiest with his portrayal on the big screen but I’ve greatly enjoyed the greater emotional depth then what we had in the comics previously.

I definitely recommend this movie for anyone who wants a good mix of Action and Drama with a dash of Humor to really make the characters feel real. It also has plenty of easter eggs for long time fans hidden throughout the movie.

Leave a Reply

